Posted on

Vacay Adventure – Day Four

The Wizarding World of Harry Potter  is the T-R-U-T-H!!!  That entire area was off tha chain!  Ok, let’s start at the beginning.  First, let me give a shout out to Apple – the Universal Free Apps, gave us much love.  The Teenager was a great navigator as well.  We hit the ground running, based on the fact that EVERYONE told us that we needed to be there as the gates opened to have any opportunity of riding any of the Harry Potter rides.

We got there 30 minutes BEFORE the gates officially opened and were able to amble on in with the Resort folks.  The folks who stay at one of their resorts (this holds for Disney as well) get to get in about an hour early.  When I tell you everyone was at a brisk walk to slow trot to all out race to get all the way across the freaking park, I do not lie.

As you cross the bridge – it’s like entering another world and you stop in your tracks to take it all in.  It’s a book come to life. Now most of the parks are books, movies etc. come to life, but this seems different in some kinda way, maybe because you actually saw this come to be.  During our lifetime this entire fantasy came to be (along with Twilight).  Now the other interesting thing is that, we aren’t really into Harry Potter so it was awesome but we weren’t emotionally tied to it, well honey let me tell you; there were some folks who fell to their knees, you hear me. It was cool watching the cloaks and wands (at $30 a pop) all over the place.  This thing called Butter Beer had a line at every ‘pub’.  Someone please tell me what that is.

Anyhoo, the line was already 15 minutes long for the first ride called “Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey”   What a mystical walk to the actual ride.  I started to notice signs talking about the ride does this and that and then I read “if you wear artificial limbs, please remove them before ride”  (paraphrasing)  WTF?! I started to wonder what I was about to get myself into.  Finally we came upon the ride and walked along the belt to get into this contraption.  We were strapped in within an inch of our lives and took off.  OK I won’t tell you about the ride because it would really spoil it, but um yea you might wanna take yah leg off, lol lol  That’s all I’mma say.  That ride would have been worth the 4pm waiting time of over 120 minutes.  Next up was a kiddie roller coaster that RG got stuck in and had to sit in a seat by himself called “Flight of the Hippogriff”.

The last ride was the Dueling Dragons and as I’ve stated before, I embrace my bitchassness about Roller Coasters – they have set sail from my life.  RG, however, decided to hop on.  Now let me say we were running on empty stomachs because there could be no breakfast to get to the park early.  So while they went and rode the biggest roller coaster at the park, I munched on grapes from a street vendor and watched the crowd.

“Mister Reggie is throwing up!”, my phone lit up and I grabbed all our stuff and went to find them.  RG came off looking as green as I’ve ever seen him. Riding all that stuff back to back had given him an awful case of motion sickness.  The vacation stopped to take care of Big Poppa.

The teenager went off to ride the rest of the guy wrenching rides, while I sat with RG as he tried to get his equilibrium back. Seeing as the parks are a GREAT place to people watch (more on that later in another blog) time went by fast.  RG was back on his feet in a couple of hours and the day continued.

Universal has different worlds:  Marvel Super Hero Island, Toon Lagoon, Jurassic park, The Lost Continent, Seuss Landing and The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.   We spent wayyy more time in Dr. Suess Landing.  It is the most colorful, loud whimsical place ever!!!  It was already decorated for Christmas and playing at top volume bad bad Christmas renditions.  If it had snow, I would have freaked out with happiness, lol  that place just turns me on. It’s ripe for candy, icecream, hugging and loving and that’s just what we did. We must have walked through there half a dozen times,  lol  Lunch in Jurrassic park and enough laughs to last a life time at Marvel Super Hero Island.  Man that island.

I don’t know where they get these ‘performers’ from but you are talking about the most pitiful bunch of Super Hero’s ever.  Now let’s first say that this is the land of Xmen, Captain America, and Spider Man.  We talking BIG LEAGUES and they almost come comical with this whole thing.  Wolverine was MY HEIGHT!!  Halle Berry should come and slap the hell out of STORM, who looked like a washed up Stripper. They kill me all the time.

I will say Universal is not as intense as Disney and quite frankly, it needs an overhaul in several areas.  Therefore, we were done and I mean we explored every nook and cranny of that park, by like 6:30pm.  We took the buses home like the previous day and chilled out a bit before we hopped on the I-Trolley and landed at Don Pablo’s for some Mexican and a whole buncha Sangria for $3.99.

As we lay down for the evening with a 4:15 am wake up call, the teenager reached out and held my hand – it was a good trip.

About Pamela

Lover of MJ, Mother of College Girl, Atlanta living participant of the bigger picture. Always ready for my closeup.

Leave a Reply

