Posted on

Challenge Day 24 – A photo of something that means a lot to you.

(originally to be posted July 24, 2011) I can acknowledge that I have probably reworked my memories of High School into what I currently believe, which means it’s become this sort of childhood Utopia. I believe this is a direct and purposeful reworking to gloss over the great disappointment with what were suppose to be my College Years. I hang on to this memory like folks hang on to the adventures of their College years. I cant’ tell you why exactly I have somehow kept all of the things I have ended up with, but when I started to gather it all up to do a scrapbook – it became this kinda tree of life thing for me. After I did the last page, I knew that I had something special and that was confirmed when I finally got a chance to showcase it for other BTW Alumni. I am going to leave it to the school in my will and I am quite proud to have recorded the history of my years at Booker T. Washington so lovingly.

 

I sat looking at all of the information, pictures etc. I have collected over the years of Michael Jackson and his family and was in a quandry as to how to best compile it all to be meaningful for me. I already owned and could purchase a generic overview of his life, but that’s not what I wanted. I wanted to be able to touch, feel and experience it. The construction of this book was literally a spiritual experience and what transpired as it came together was one of the most personal satisfying experiences of my entire life. I cried, I laughed, I became the pages as I worked on them. I always let book guide me – when the spirit moved me, I moved with it. It’s my relationship with Michael Jackson and his family and that’s the memory I wanted to capture.

About Pamela

Lover of MJ, Mother of College Girl, Atlanta living participant of the bigger picture. Always ready for my closeup.

Leave a Reply

