Posted on

Challenge Day 14 – A TV Show You’re Currently Addicted To

 

Open Your Baskets/You have 20 Minutes for the Appetizer Round/Time is Up!/One of you will be CHOPPED! Talk about edge of your seat reality!! The Food Network has a true fan in me to begin with. Semi-Homemade with my favorite Alcoholic Sandra was good in it’s own right but then the Food Network started ramping up their evening line up and I found myself more than I thought tuning in to see of all things cooking. Then I discovered CHOPPED! If you are not familiar, the premise is four chef’s must cook a course using the odd ingredients in a basket, then they are judged by chefs and foodies and one by one they are chopped until there are two Chef’s left to do the dessert course. The prize: $10k.

 

For those of us that work outside the home and cook, we are quite used to having to prepare and serve a meal in 20 minutes or less, but we don’t just go and pick random things out the pantry and fridge and possibly the bottom of your pocketbook. On CHOPPED however, that’s just what happens and since you are aware of the clock and aware that you might get dogged out by the judges it adds soo much pressure. I’m not sure I would eat half the food these folks cook if for no other reason than there is more sweat on this show than a Wide World of Sports Triatholon. Good Grief! The judges can be brutal and sometimes have me laughing at the nit picking they do. The fact I even figured out how to merge Lemon Heads and Rabbit into something edible should be enough for you!!!!

 

One of the best runs on the show was the Chopped Champions Competition, bringing back other winners to compete against each other, the highlight? The JUDGES competed and all four of them almost stroked out.

 

The off shoot of that series was that we got our first CHOPPED Hearth Throb….

  Madison Cowan with his super fine English Self!!

 

More on Madison Cowan

 

Cowan is the owner of Avenue Inc., a New York City-based culinary production company, and he also operates what he calls “a global clandestine dining club.” From his Food Network

 “My family reads like the United Nations. I was born in South London to a Jamaican father and an African-American mother. My wife is Danish, my daughter is Japanese and I’m just a ragamuffin from Brixton.” Cowan told the Post that he “plans to use his winnings to bring his family to the States” from London.

So far all of the Chef’s competing on the show are already at the top of their fields at restaurants throughout the United States but Madison is seemingly being groomed to become a permanent part of the Food Network Family. He is currently a judge on the new show Extreme Cooking (I think that’s what it’s called) He’s giving them mad British fever and there are petitions and Facebook pages asking the Network to give him his own show. YES!

 

Anybody who knows me know that I appreciate and fall in submission to the wonders of the boob tube, but this show right here – takes me there!!!

 

About Pamela

Lover of MJ, Mother of College Girl, Atlanta living participant of the bigger picture. Always ready for my closeup.

One response to “Challenge Day 14 – A TV Show You’re Currently Addicted To

  1. Jay Jaffy

    Unquestionably imagine that that you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be at the internet the easiest thing to understand of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst other folks think about worries that they plainly do not realize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the entire thing with no need side effect , other folks could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

